chicago · DSLR camera · photography · wedding

Ok ok save the date photo shoot for real this time

Okay so I bought a charger and made another attempt at this photo shoot. Of course I heard all the expected jokes from the bride and groom to be, “did you charge the camera this time??”

Oh! And I also discovered that my Canon 30D has a flash:) Yep! Amateur I am. There was this tiny little button with a flash sign. The flash gear only pops up when the camera is powered on. Go figure!

Originally, the shoot was scheduled on Thursday, December 20th. We tried again on Christmas Day. Honestly, it was not a good day for a shoot. It was freezing cold, cloudy, and we heard a snow storm was a coming.

Even with flash on, photo came out fairly dark.

20130103-213817.jpg

My fingers were freezing. I cheated and set the camera to “auto focus.” I think? Is that what ” AF” means? See, even the couple were freezing. I think they thought jumping up, down, and around might create heat or a fire.

20130103-213352.jpg

So I’m no pro. I downloaded the photos to my iPad. Downloaded a couple apps to edit the photos. At first I paid for an app called Photogene. It’s okay. Then I used a free app called Snapseed instead. My coworker recommended it. You would be surprised the quality of the photos edited on a free app.

This was the original unedited photo. Look what I did to it using Snapseed.

20130103-214741.jpg

20130103-214543.jpg

I didnt offer much guidance during the shoot since it was making the photos seem very posed. i let them do whatever came natural.

Here are some of my favorites. There are some better ones but I won’t post them so the bride and groom can have some personal ones to share between them. If you pay close attention, you’ll see that the snow came down. We had to call it a day after an hour in the freezing weather.

Awkward and cute

20130103-215249.jpg
Sweet and simple

20130103-215446.jpg
Trying to get out of the cold

20130103-215550.jpg
This is where he proposed

20130103-215700.jpg
Warming her cold hands.

20130103-215807.jpg
Keeping each other warm

20130103-220935.jpg
He managed not to drop her

20130103-221242.jpg

I’m no professional photographer. I Don’t know how to use my camera but I do know how to capture moments. Hope you enjoyed the photos. I know I had fun

Leave a Reply

